Thunderball. Ian Lancaster FLEMING.


London: Jonathan Cape, 1961. [Spy thriller] FIRST EDITION. Octavo (19 x 13cm), pp.254. Publisher's cloth-effect paper over boards with embossed skeleton hand design to upper board, gilt titles to spine. In dust-wrapper illustrated by Richard Chopping. A clean, fine copy of the book in an outstanding wrapper. Housed in a custom-made protective box. 'Thunderball' is one of the most pivotal works of the series. It was in this novel that Fleming first introduces the world to the ultimate Bond villain- Ernest Stavro Blofeld. Though Bond and Blofeld never actually meet here, it is in this book that Bond first battles the schemes of SPECTRE, Blofeld's criminal organisation. Is the first part of the so-called 'Blofeld' trilogy, and was followed by 'On Her Majesty's Secret Service' (1963) and 'You Only Live Twice' (1964). The title was filmed in 1965, starring Sean Connery as 007, Claudine Auger as Domino and Adolfo Celi as Emilio Largo- SPECTRE's No.2. The later film 'Never Say Never Again', with Connery once more as 007, was loosely based on this story. Item #55657

Gilbert, Jon. Ian Fleming: The Bibliography, A9a (1.1).

Price: £1,750.00

See all items in Fleming's James Bond Stories
See all items by